CWA Forum

Lure control with leadcore- Clueless yesterday
Last Post 13 Apr 2013 01:47 PM by Derrick Sova. 4 Replies.
Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages

--
07 Apr 2013 10:04 AM
    I'm new to fishing with leadcore and gave it a try for the first time yesterday. I felt like I had no clue where my crank's were running in relation to the fish I was marking on the screen.

I was using 15LB leadcore and #5 shadrap in 20 FOW. I fluctuated my trolling speed from 1.2mph on the low end to 1.8mph on the high end. I had 30-50ft of lead core out as i tried to vary this because i didnt feel my lures were running deep enough.

While i'm kinda ok with not catching fish, I felt like my lures were not running deep enough or that I was doing something wrong because I thought for sure I would hit bottom occasionaly too.

Any suggestions or feedback for me?

Derrick
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    07 Apr 2013 01:12 PM
    Good morning Derrick,

Let me start out by saying I am by no means an expert when it comes to trolling with leadcore - or actually trolling in general, but one thing I can tell you is that leadcore is very speed sensitive.

Were you using a leader in front of the leadcore - if so how long was your leader? According to my Precision Trolling book it says using a 50 foot leader of 10 pound monofilament and having 3 colors (90) feet of leadcore and going a speed of 1.0-1.5 mph with a shad rap #5 your lure would have been around 17-19 feet down. With that same setup and going from .75 to 1.0 mph your lure would have been down about 20-22 feet. With a speed of .5 to .75 your lure would have been down around 23-25 feet. With these numbers I'm guessing that your lure wasn't anywhere as deep as you thought?

A rule of thumb you often hear about leadcore is for every color you let out it takes your lure down 5 feet - this of course if very speed dependent.