CWA Forum

New to the club and to walleye fishing!
Last Post 18 Sep 2013 06:19 PM by Justin Crump. 4 Replies.
Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages

--
16 Sep 2013 07:37 PM
    Hey everyone! My name is Justin. I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I look forward to getting the chance to meet everyone and hopefully do some fishing together. I am brand new to walleye fishing. I've caught one walleye on accident while bass fishing in Wisconsin. In Colorado, I love to fish for pike, lake trout, and wipers. In Wisconsin, I love to fish for muskies and bass. I decided to take up walleye fishing because I have a lot of great walleye lakes from what I understand, close to home. Wednesday will be my inaugural run, I will be heading to Carter Lake first thing in the morning. If anyone has any info that might help a newbie out I would appreciate it. I plan on trolling with worms on a bottom bouncer and dragging some jigs too. Thanks everyone, glad to be a part of CWA and am looking forward to contributing and helping out where I can.

Justin
    Jhertz303@live.com

--
    17 Sep 2013 09:43 PM
    Welcome Justin, you will enjoy our club! Colorado walleye fishing is a little different then the upper Midwest fish here get a lot of pressure and can be awful finicky at times. But when the bite is on and you figure out the pattern get ready! Again Welcome
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    18 Sep 2013 09:36 AM
    Justin,

Welcome to the club. If your on the water first thing in the morning(first hour or two) I would try pitching jigs or casting crankbaits (husky jerks, shad raps, etc.) to the shore along some of the points or rocky areas. After that your plan of pulling bottom bouncers or jigging sounds like a great idea. Wish I could be there with you!

Good luck and I look forward to meeting you.

Lonnie

--
    18 Sep 2013 10:37 AM